Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Mountcastle Plastic Surgery

Learn more about Ashburn, VA plastic surgeon, Dr. Timothy Mountcastle and his remarkable staff, through the eyes of their patients as you are making your surgery decisions. He wholeheartedly accepts all feedback at Mountcastle Plastic Surgery & Vein Institute. Patients distinguish our board-certified plastic surgeon as one of the best in Northern Virginia. Devote some time reading through their stories, recommendations and reviews of procedures they experienced first hand. Dr. Mountcastle was recognized in 2014 and 2015, Northern Virginia Magazine as a “Top Plastic Surgeon,” and he received the Loudoun Times-Mirror Reader’s Choice Award for Best Plastic Surgeon in Loudoun County. Please review all the testimonials for yourself regarding Mountcastle Plastic Surgery & Vein Institute.

Filter27 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 18, 2018

Dr. Mountcastle is Terrific - Dr. Mountcastle has performed a number of procedures (vein removal, lipoma removal etc.) for me. He is focused, patient, and cautious. He also seems very sensitive to comfort levels of pain during in-office procedures. I've have seen him a number of times over the last 5 years and I think he does great work. He is also very calm which is nice! His office staff is friendly and kind. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 04, 2015

Size 4D and a Much Needed Breast Reduction and Lift! - Ashburn, VA - Dr. Mountcastle was fabulous. He's was helpful, thorough and he made me feel great. He took his time with me and made sure that I understood what was going to happen. After the surgery, he personally called to check in on me. His staff is also amazing. I wouldn't go to anyone else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 02, 2015

Botox & Spider Veins. Reston, VA - Dr Mountcastle & Meredith West, PA are wonderful! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 15, 2014

Clear + Brilliant Laser Procedure - Ashburn, VA - Amy was great. Chatty, but not at all in an annoying way. She helped me stay calm during the procedure. She is very up to date on the latest technology. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 05, 2014

DIEP Flap Breast Reconstructions - Ashburn, VA - As a two time Breast Cancer Survivor, I thought I had exhausted all options of breast reconstruction and would have to deal with continuous tightness and pain. In 2008 after my bi-lateral, skin sparring, mastectomy, I had saline implants put in. In 2009 after my second diagnosis, and radiation, I had silicone implants put in to replace the saline ones. After numerous breast reconstruction revisions, throughout five years, and the frustration of constant checks of my implants; I began researching DIEP Flap Breast Reconstruction and one thing remained constant – Dr. Mountcastle’s name kept coming up. After a call to the office and an initial office visit – I was on board with this surgery.I can honestly say, this was the best decision I’ve made throughout my Breast Cancer recovery. Dr. Mountcastle and his team were amazing. It began with a thorough explanation about the DIEP Flap procedure and literature to take home. Within a month, I was scheduled for surgery – and I couldn’t wait. The surgery was ~7 hours and then I spent 2 days in the ICU and 1 day in step down. Throughout my stay in the hospital, I was visited by nursing care, Dr. Mountcastle and his team almost hourly. I went home with 4 drains, pain meds and instructions on how to care for myself. I must admit, I followed the home care directions to a tee and by the 3rd day home, I was able to take care of myself. I moved around pretty slowly, but was amazed that I was able to get around (minus driving). My recovery went really well and as expected by the discussions Dr. Mountcastle and I had in his office. I am four months out from surgery and couldn’t be happier. I have the breasts I had before cancer got me. I am able to lie comfortably on my stomach, sleep on my side, wear a bra and most importantly, feel like I have REAL BREASTS. I cannot begin to thank Dr. Mountcastle and his team for all they did. They gave me my confidence back. They made me feel complete. I would HIGHLY recommend Dr. Mountcastle if you are considering breast reconstruction. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 31, 2013

Excellent Doctor ! -Reston, VA - I was referred to Dr. Mountcastle by my personal doctor after a bad experience with another surgeon. I had a lipoma lump in my back close to my spine removed eight month earlier, only to have it begin to grow back within two months.So I scheduled the appointment with Dr Mountcastle, and from the moment I entered his office there was a much more personal and friendly treatment from his staff than I had experienced with the previous Doctor's office, and surprisingly, there was NO WAIT !When I met Dr. Mountcastle, along with ability to explain the procedure and answer all questions thoroughly, his professionalism and confidence was reassuring and I must say he backed it up completely.While he was examining the lipoma, I mentioned that I had been severely burned as a child, and he asked to see the scars. He was extremely impressed with the work and the results. Then, at one point he asked me "do yo realize you have a hernia ? I was surprised but not shocked because in years past I experienced some intermittent pain in my stomach while lifting weights, but it usually subsided quickly.I felt very confident enough with Dr. Mountcastle, and scheduled both surgeries to be performed within a two week period. I could not be more pleased with the results. He used the same incision the last doctor had made for the lipoma, to avoid additional scarring. My comfort level throughout his procedure was immensely improved as compared to my last experience.He left NO visible scar in my navel from the hernia surgery, and did a fantastic job with that as well. I can honestly say that I would recommend Dr. Mountastle to my family and closest friends which speaks volumes. He obviously performs much more than cosmetic surgery, and when all is said and done, I know I could not have had a better doctor ! Thanks Dr. Mountcastle More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-01-27
Review from R.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 16, 2013

Ear Pinning - Ashburn, VA - I've wanted to get my ears pinned back for several years and after researching three different surgeons, I picked Dr. Timothy Mountcastle. The procedure took place under local anesthesia and lasted about one and a half hours. It was the best decision I could have made! It was more than worth it. I love the result. Dr. Mountcastle did a great job, his procedure was quick and comfortable, and he follows up. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 05, 2013

Lipoma Removal - Virginia, VA - Excellent Doctor and great staff (That means you Amy!!!) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 03, 2012

Breast Reduction: 18 Years Old - Virginia, VA - He was so nice!!! Everything was easy and very relaxed! I didn't see him after surgery at all but my mom did but that's ok More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 24, 2012

Breast Reduction With Dr. Timothy Mountcastle - Ashburn, VA - I chose him through my insurance company. I walked into Dr. Mountcastle's office feeling terrified. He and his staff were amazing. Dr. Mountcatle explained the surgery, showed me photos of before and after surgeries and reassured me that I would be ok. Dr. Mountcastle is an amazing surgeon. I trust him so much and am so happy with his work that I am going back for two or three more procedures I want done. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Sep 11, 2012

Mountcastle Plastic Surgery Everyone Was So Kind - Ashburn, VA - I had no problems whatsoever and the procedure is perfect. I found out about Dr. Mountcastle through groupons and I'm happy I did. I'd like to say this was my first time to Mountcastle Plastic Surgery in Ashburn, VA. Everyone was so kind, the receptionists were nice and so cute. So once I went in to the back to get my procedure done, Amy was the person to do it, she was so knowledgeable and the procedure came out perfect....she is awesome! I love the results and aftewards Dr. Mountcastle came in to meet me. It's just a great place and a great atmosphere. I will be going back. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 20, 2012

Easy and Totally Worth It! - Ashburn, VA - This past March, I had Zeltiq Coolsculpting done on my love handles at Dr. Mountcastle’s office. I was pretty hesitant, because I’m a huge baby when it comes to pain. I can hardly stand needles, which is why I liked the idea of the coolsculpting so much. Even though I knew the procedure didn’t use anything sharp, I was still shaking when I went into the office, afraid that it would hurt.When I first went into the office, the nurse had me change into a disposable thong and my bra, to keep me from getting my clothes dirty. She then took a bunch of pictures of me, which I really didn’t want to do at first. But then the nurse explained that the pictures were all anonymous and didn’t have my face in them. I could also decide to keep these pictures private within the doctor’s office. They just wanted to take the photos so they could compare the before and after pictures to see how effective the coolsculpting had been on me. I let her take the photos and it turned out to be totally worth it so I could see my own results.The nurse then drew a couple of x’s on my body with a pen to mark where the machine’s suction cups were going to be hooked up. I laid down on my side on the bed and the nurse attached one of the vacuum suction canisters to my left love handle. She gave me a warning that she was about to turn the machine on and I braced myself for the pain. She turned it on and I could feel my skin being pulled sharply up into the suction canister. I gasped and yelped “Ouch!” but more because I was expecting pain than because I actually felt it. It felt uncomfortable for a minute or two but then the coolness of the procedure sort of numbed the area. The nurse handed me a remote to the tv they had in the room and a pager to contact her if I needed her anytime in the next hour. She left the room and I put a movie on Netflix. I started to watch it, but fell asleep instead. I guess the procedure wasn’t too bad since I managed to nap! After what must have been an hour, the nurse came back in and woke me up to disconnect me from the machine. Now that part actually did hurt. It felt like sharp little prickles in the area that had been treated as soon as she pulled the vacuum off of me. And as the numbness wore off, it started to feel less like sharp little pains and more like I had a big bruise on my love handle. Plus, my love handle looked gross. It looked as though it was disconnected from my body. Like a raw piece of frozen meat or something. I turned over to the other side and repeated the procedure on my right love handle. The right side was exactly the same as the left side.When I got up to go home, it hurt just to button my jeans. It felt like I had run into a table corner with both of my hips. I also had pretty bad bruising on my love handle area.For about the next week, I had tenderness and soreness and the bruises stayed there. After about 7 days, I stopped hurting and the bruises started to disappear. As soon as the pain and bruises disappeared, I started noticing a sort of tingling numbness in my love handles. I was concerned and called to ask about that. The front desk at Dr Mountcastle’s office said that was normal and would disappear after a few more weeks. It’s completely gone now and I feel back to normal.It’s been about two months now and I can DEFINITELY see a difference. I went back to the office for a follow-up visit, where they showed me my before and after results. They said when I first got the coolsculpting that there would be a slight difference, but to me, it feels like a huge difference. I have never been able to get rid of my love handles because I don’t know how to work them out. This procedure did what I never seemed to be able to do. I feel so much more proportional and happy with my body. The whole experience was definitely worth the results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 08, 2012

My Liposonix Experience!!! - Ashburn, VA - Dr. Mountcastle took his time with me during my initial consultation. He showed me before and after pictures and gave me realistic expectations of what results i was going to have. The nurses were very comforting during the procedure and the front staff was exceptional! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 19, 2012

BEST DOCTOR Dr. Mountcastle - Virginia - The whole process was great!! I have never had a doctor reply himself much less on a weekend & while at a conference... He's a great doctor and genuinely cares about his patients.. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 04, 2012

Clear & Brilliant Treatment - Ashburn, VA - I wanted to smooth and clear up lines, blemishes and overall surface of my skin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 22, 2012

Melasma No More! - Ashburn, VA - Dr Mountcastle and his office were so friendly and helpful. I had the Fraxel 1927 and did not know what to expect. His office took the time to sit down with me and answer all of my questions. Since my first visit 2 weeks ago, I have come back for 2 additional follow-ups and I am still receiving the same great treatment. My melasma has almost completely cleared up thanks to the treatment. I am coming back for my second treatment in 4-6 weeks! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 19, 2012

Beautiful, Confident and Whole - Ashburn, VA - I had a difficult case-or so I thought, after having surgeries and due to breast cancer...I was at my emotionally end. When I came to Dr. Mountcastle I did not know if my left breast could be restored, let alone could I ever feel beautiful and "whole" in that area. But I was so grateful to be in the hands of a Dr. that believed in his talents, was fearless and skillful. Today I am in amazing shape due to confidence restored! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 17, 2012

My First Fraxel Treatment Was AMAZING - Ashburn, VA - My whole experience was fantastic! I heard about Fraxel 1550 and had it done here. The results are night and day. Fraxel sells itself, but most of all the quality of care and attentiveness was fantastic! I can't wait to have my next Fraxel in 3 months!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Nov 03, 2011

Breast Reduction, The Start of Something New! - Virginia - I loved my PS. Dr. Mountcastle. He was so helpful and very kind. If I need him or have a question he picks up any phone calls at any time! He is all about making you feel comfortable and making you feel more confident. He is the best PS in my area and I will tell others to see him. His staff were awesome! They were so sweet and helped me when I needed it. These people are so friendly and make coming back worth it! More

3.0
DAPI
Review from V.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 02, 2013

Nervous After 3 Weeks: Upper & Lower Tummy and Lovehandles -Ashburn, VA - I had Laser Lipo 3 weeks ago. I was not overweight ( I weighed 126lbs) but wanted a smoother contour without the annoying lovehandles. I expected the lumps and bumps, but I have a swollen buldge above my bellybutton that stings and is very tender to the touch. My Doctor told me at my one week checkup that everything looked normal, but now that 3 weeks have gone by, Its really bothering me and I don't know if its normal or a seroma. I don't go back for two more weeks. I feel like my belly looked better before the procedure. Can anyone tell by the photos if its normal or should I be concerned/ More

3.0
DAPI
Review from Y.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 21, 2012

Botched Breast Reduction ~IN NEED OF PRAYERS AND ENCOURAGEMENT !!!! - Ashburn, VA - Dr. Timothy Mountcastle seems to be a very nice and kind doctor. I felt comfortable with him when we meet and he assured me that my surgery would be successful and I would be happy with the results. However, that was not the case and I am unhappy and in pain. It would be nice if my PS was a better communicator. I just wish he would have taken time to explain to me what happened during surgery and what went wrong and how to correct it now. I just want to heal and I don't want this result to happen to anyone else!!! More

3.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 15, 2012

New Boobs. Waka waka! I believe the real healing has begun! - Ashburn, VA - I chose this provider by looking at the list that my insurance allowed. He had great reviews and great pictures. I'm certain that when I'm finally done feeling they are going to look fine. Though I was given an after care sheet I still feel as though I should have been given more specific instructions as far as after care. His ability to help after things went off track seemed to be very limited. It seems that he is very confident in his work, and often times he does good work, but in cases like mine where everything is not okay he didn't seem to know what to do. Not even a little bit. His staff is very kind. He is nice, but not good with putting me at ease and making me feel like I know what I'm doing as far as caring for these incisions. I would not go to this doctor again or recommend him to anyone else. More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 15, 2016

24 Years Old, 1 Child. Time to Get This Belly off of Me - Ashburn, VA - When i first came into the office, it was very nice and you just got a warm feeling. Turn around time was fast i filled out my paper work and i was not even waiting 2 minutes when i got called back. Dr. Mountcastle answered all my questions. Showed me before and after pictures and was overall very friendly. He seems like he knows what he is doing and his staff is very well educated. More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 27, 2016

36F Finally Getting Reduction!! - I am 31 years old, and currently a 36F. My surgery is in a little over two weeks, and I have to say I am starting to get a little nervous! I live alone, so I'm trying to figure out how to do everything once I get back home. (I'll be staying with a friend for the first week). My main concern right now is what surgical bra to buy before I go in!! I have read that people have found some itchy, seams hitting right on incisions, so I'm wondering if anyone has one that they LOVED, and definitely for the list of any that do not work for this type of surgery! Hopefully I have thought of everything else with the help of everyone's stories on this site!! More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Sep 27, 2015

36 Years Old, 2 Kids Much Needed Breasts Reduction/lift! - Ashburn, VA - I’ve always had big breasts ever since I started growing them. I used to get teased a lot for having such big breasts at an early age. I was chubby till I was 16 and even though I started exercising and toning up before I turned 18 my breasts size seems to stay the same. The sad part about them was they were very droopy and the right side was a bigger than the left side. My weight keep fluctuating with pregnancy and child birth as well. Unfortunately, my breasts size doesn’t lose weight when I lose weight and when I gain weight it keeps getting bigger as well. Anyway, I did not like my breasts at all because the shape. It does look good with my clothes on but I felt very insecure naked. I’ve thought about having them reduce and lifted for many years now but just did not have the courage to go through it. My defining moment happened last year when I was rear ended and suffered neck and back pain due to disc herniation from the accident. My pain was unbearable and having big breasts did not help at all. That is when I decided to talk to the surgeon to see if my insurance would cover the costs of my procedure. Fortunately, I had enough evidence and medical documentation that my insurance approved it. I had my procedure September 23rd 2015 and I am now 5 days post of. As of this moment I am feeling great and have no regret about the procedure but I will not be saying this 2 days post op since I think it was the worst days when it comes to recovery. I had a lot of pain and suffered nausea due to the side effects of Anesthesia. The pain pills helped a lot with my pain after I decided to take them as ordered. Apparently, I wasn’t taking enough to alleviate my pain. Anyway, as of today I am very happy with the result and I would recommend it to anybody who needs it. I wish I could have done it long time ago. Other than that I love the outcome. More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Sep 04, 2015

27 Years Old Removing 9 Year Old Implants. Ashburn, VA - The office was clean, and the staff was friendly. I have not the surgery yet, but I am happy with the dr so far. He was easy to talk to, and explained everything so that I understood the procedure. I will update this when I have more to give. More

Patient Story
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Nov 04, 2014

Liposuction and Fat Transfer to Even out Asymmetrical Breasts - Ashburn, VA - I'm 45 and have had 4 kids and have breastfed. I'm 5'4 and about 120lbs. My right breasts has always been smaller than the left. My goal was to even out and if an overall boost could be achieved, all the better. Today I had liposuction only to the overall abdominal area. My doctor was able to add to both sides with obviously more added to the right. So far the day of my left breast is a little bigger than it was. ..probably about where it was before I lost 15 lbs and it feels soft and normal..a bit firmer though, probably pre pregnancy consistency. The right one is pretty hard, almost like an implant is in there. Dr. says that is normal because a lot more fat was transferred to that one and that it will soften. I'm worried because it is perked (because it's harder) and therefore sits higher and still appears significantly smaller than the left. I'm hoping that as it softens it will drop down and be more even with the left or else I just spent a bunch of money to end up with the same problem, but with bigger breasts. As far as discomfort, so far so good, but I probably still have some numbing medicine that hasn't worn off. My breasts sort of feel like they did when I had a baby and my milk came in..hard and sore, but completely tolerable. No pain meds needed yet. My abdomen is pretty tolerable so far. Kind of like a hard work out but more surface like versus deeper in the muscle. I took the compression garment off for a minute to take a look. Hard to tell as there is expected swelling. I have a feeling tomorrow won't feel as good as today, but so far the level of pain doesn't require narcotics :) Feel free to ask questions and I'll try to remember to update! More

* All information subject to change. All gallery images contain real patients and are the property of Mountcastle Plastic Surgery & Vein Institute. Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary.